There’s No Place Like Home

I took 1 1/2 glorious weeks off work at the end of June and the beginning of July to visit family in Ohio and NorCal. And Dan took the long holiday weekend off to visit family and friends in NorCal with me. There is nothing more that I love than being paid to not work. I swear – that’s the main reason why I want to have kids: to take 4 wonderful months off work for maternity leave with each kid.

Anyway…my time in Ohio was lovely. It rained every day and I thoroughly enjoyed spending my days inside listening to the storms, napping, and reading. One of the books that I read was called Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes by Shauna Niequist. It was recommended to me by a friend and I loved every second I spent reading it. In addition to reading and relaxing, I attended my 15-year high school reunion/get-together at a local bar, baked and cooked with my mom, went to the Crosby Festival of the Arts at the Toledo Botanical Garden with my mom, visited with many family members and friends, and saw my brother’s new home (this was his first home purchase!).

Visiting the Allison Girls in Wayne, OH

Visiting the Allison Girls in Wayne, OH

Visiting Grandma in Gibsonburg, OH

Visiting Grandma in Gibsonburg, OH

Carrie & Julie at the GHS 1998 Reunion

Carrie & Julie at the GHS 1998 Reunion

Carrie & Dad

Carrie & Dad

Carrie & Matt at His New House!

Carrie & Matt at His New House!

Carrie & Mom at Matt's New House

Carrie & Mom at Matt’s New House

After I returned from Ohio, we packed up our car and Snoopy and drove up to Livermore. We spent the long 4th of July holiday weekend visiting Dan’s family and our friends, wine tasting, seeing an outdoor play at Concannon Vineyard, and attending our dear friends’ wedding in San Francisco.

Concannon Vineyards

Concannon Vineyards

Dressed Up for the Wedding

Dressed Up for the Wedding

With Friends at the Wedding

With Friends at the Wedding

With the Lovely Bride

With the Lovely Bride

Mom & Dad Chambers With Their Son and Granddog

Mom & Dad Chambers With Their Son and Granddog

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, running, and raising my family of four kids.
This entry was posted in Arts, Drinking, Travel, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home

  1. mizwrite says:

    You’re all over the place, girl! Sounds like a fun summer so far! And I love your dress for the wedding. 🙂

  2. We loved having you here this weekend and always enjoy every one of your visits. Snoopy was a real charmer, too. He and Daphne were companionable with each other without him exhausting her. He really is mellowing out nicely without losing his puppy appeal.

  3. Robin says:

    Congratulations on your brother for his house purchase, and your friends on their wedding! Sounds like a nice trip back, I really wish we could coordinate with you guys and visit some more.

    Although fair warning: as for the being paid not to work, the two months I got off with Autumn were a LOT more work than my actual job is. Seriously – I love my kid to pieces, but I went back to work after 7 weeks so I could have a break!

    • Carrie says:

      You are certainly welcome to visit us anytime – or come home to mom and dad’s anytime we’re there. We’re there on a fairly regular basis and we’ll be there again for Christmas this year.

      I forgot that you only got seven weeks off work. That sucks! I’m going to take advantage – and fully enjoy – my 16-18 weeks off (paid, thankfully!) when the time comes. I get a full month off before even popping out a kid and those will be four wonderful weeks of doing nearly nothing – I can’t wait! I’ve been working at my same job for nearly ten years – I need a break, even if it’s to take care of a screaming newborn!

Leave a comment