Spa Weekend Getaway

We implemented a new tradition in our young family – my husband plans a Valentine’s (i.e., Spring) getaway and I plan an anniversary (i.e., Fall) getaway each year. My husband was up first and so he planned a weekend away at a spa resort near Palm Springs. He shared the destination with me at our Valentine’s Day dinner, but we didn’t actually go on the trip until last weekend.

We arrived at Two Bunch Palms Resort and Spa in Desert Hot Springs on Saturday afternoon. After checking into our cottage (complete with our own private outdoor spa!), we went to the “grotto” and spent two hours soaking in the mineral waters. I kept asking my husband if I looked better and younger, but I don’t think the healing waters work that fast:-P After lounging around for a few hours, we each had a 60 minute personalized massage, which we both really needed. It was heaven. Except that it hurt. But in the good John Melloncamp kind of way. Anyway, after our massages, we dressed up and went to dinner in the hotel’s restaurant – the food was plentiful and delicious and we took our dessert with us back to our cottage.

In Front of Our Cottage

On Sunday, after breakfast in the hotel’s dining room, we checked out of the hotel and then toured the nearby Cabot’s Pueblo Museum (Cabot founded the town of Desert Hot Springs and the mineral water in the area). Then we went on a 2 mile hike in the Big Morongo Canyon Preserve. My husband is not much of a fan of the desert landscape, but I think it’s very beautiful. On the way back to Orange County, we stopped at Hadley Fruit Orchards so that I could get my date shake.

Cabot's Pueblo Museum

Hiking in Big Morongo Canyon Preserve

It was a perfect, quick getaway weekend! I’m already looking forward to our Fall trip – I finalized all the details for our trip to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, last week. Yeah!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

