Reney is THREE

Our baby is three. Three! I honestly can’t think too much about it or else I’ll fall to pieces. Yes, I am incredibly thankful and happy that she is so happy, healthy, safe, smart, and joyful. But seeing time march away from some of your best moments (even though you know you have more ahead of you) is hard. I’ve never had a three year old without a baby behind him or her. Irene’s toddlerhood is nearly over – she’s more of a preschooler now (even though she hasn’t yet started preschool). Sigh…I’m rambling. Mostly, what I mean to say is that Irene is three and it’s bittersweet, but seeing her sweetness and hearing her laughter every day mostly make up for time’s quick speed.

On Irene’s birthday morning, she was greeted with our traditional balloons in the kitchen.

THREE!

She came home from daycare with a crown and then we ate homemade Epiphany Cake with sprinkles and ice cream after dinner and opened presents. Simple, but sweet.

Birthday Queen
Birthday Cake
Birthday Presents

Irene was so happy to turn 3. She is very smart, social, and active. She still loves Mama best, but also very much loves her siblings. Dan is starting to grow on her, too – ha! Other favorites are daycare, playing family or school with Lil, reading books, watching Cocomelon and Bluey, “helping” us cook/bake, and going to the park. I still rock her before bed every night, although she’s getting physically too big for that. She’s my baby, though, my last baby, and I’m going to hold on to as much of that as I can for as long as I can, even if she is three now.

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, running, and raising my family of four kids.
This entry was posted in Baby & Kids, Eating, Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment