Springtime in Ohio

Okay…it really wasn’t technically Spring when Vivian and I went to Ohio at the beginning of March. It was actually cold, dreary, and brown, and even snowed one morning (but sadly melted before Vivian could go outside and play in it). But, well, we went to Ohio, and it was March. Close enough.

We planned this trip because it coincided with my cousin’s daughter’s baptism. I was honored to be asked to be her godmother. So, since Vivian still qualifies as a lap infant (and I want her to have as much time with family as possible), she and I went to Ohio and Dan and Snoopy stayed in California. I’ve traveled/flown many times alone with Vivian – even to Ohio – and I feel like I have it down pretty well. This time, I didn’t bring a stroller, because I knew we wouldn’t really use it and she’d just want to walk or want me to carry her anyways. We certainly wouldn’t have used it during our stay in Ohio, but, honestly, I could have used it in the airports! In order to get around successfully, I had to strap our backpack on my back and Vivian on my front in our Ergo Performance Carrier. So, I had two babies on my front (ouch!). We survived, though, and no one is worse for the wear.

Off to Ohio!

Off to Ohio!

We had a couple of hours to kill during a layover in Chicago on our way to Detroit and, as usual, we spent it at the Chicago Children’s Museum at O’Hare. Vivian had a blast playing and running around!

Run, run, run!

Run, Run, Run!

When we finally made it to Detroit, and then to Ohio, we were ready for dinner, bath, and bed. Oh, and some more playtime.

Playing with Papa

Playing with Papa

On Saturday, we had a lovely, relaxing morning, before finally going over to my dad’s to hang out with him and have Vivian help him collect eggs from his chickens. She loves the chickens and collecting the eggs and it was adorable to see her running around with them.

Chicken Chores

Chicken Chores

When she wasn’t running after chickens, she was playing with Anna’s kitchen playset that our grandfather made for her when she was a child. Vivian loved that, too!

A 25-year-Old Treasure Trove

A 25-year-Old Treasure Trove

Later that night, after dinner, Mom, Vivian, and I went to an art gallery showing at Kirwen Art Gallery in a nearby town. My uncle and cousin have worked for years to restore the old church in which the gallery is housed. Vivian enjoyed the live band and snacks and even some of the art.

Life Imitating Art

Life Imitating Art

With My Cousin and His Girlfriend, Creators of the Art on the Wall

With My Cousin and His Girlfriend, Creators of the Art on the Wall

On Sunday, we picked up my Uncle Lee and then drove 2 hours down to Columbus to attend mass, my goddaughter’s baptism, and a reception honoring the beautiful baby in the church hall. It was wonderful to see so much family!

The Oberhausers at the Baptism

The Oberhausers at the Baptism

Vivian Loves Uncle Matthew and His Girlfriend, Rebecca

Vivian Loves Uncle Matthew and His Girlfriend, Rebecca

Vivian Loves Uncle Lee, Too, Even Though She Doesn't Show It

Vivian Loves Uncle Lee, Too, Even Though She Doesn’t Show It

Before driving back to Helena, we stopped to visit my friend, Julie, and her two girls. Vivian enjoyed playing with Julie’s oldest daughter, Breeley, and all of Breeley’s awesome toys.

Visiting Friends

Visiting Friends

On the last day of our trip, before flying back to California, we again rested and relaxed. Vivian helped collect chicken eggs at Papa’s and visited the horse and doggies down the street. We all visited with Grandma, too. The next time we’re in Ohio, we anticipate it being for Grandma’s 90th birthday celebration in September!

Laughs with Her Great Grandma

Laughs with Great Grandma

Saying Goodbye to Her Nana

Saying Goodbye to Nana

Final Playtime at the Toledo Airport Before Flying Home to California

Final Playtime at the Toledo Airport Before Flying Home to California

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Arts, Baby, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Springtime in Ohio

  1. Robini says:

    What a fun trip! Glad so much family could gather to see (not-so-little-any-more) Viv. And that she gets to spend time with an actual great-grandma! That picture with the chickens is adorable, and it’s fun to see her playing with things that the previous generation enjoyed as kids. Go Grandpa for being so handy!

Leave a Reply

