Borrego Trail at Baker Ranch

Our new community recently opened a 1-mile fitness trail (the Borrego Trail) and we took time last weekend to go on a family walk on it. Dan, Vivian, and Snoopy had walked it on NYE, but I hadn’t yet had a chance to explore it. When you add in the distance that we walked to get to and from the trail and our house, we walked about 3 miles.

Vivian did really well riding in her stroller, walking, and playing on the fitness equipment – right up until we veered off the fitness trail and back onto the streets. Then, she was in hysterics because I wouldn’t carry her. The fun abruptly stopped. Luckily, after walking with her screaming in her stroller for about 1/2 mile, Dan was finally able to get her to calm down and stop crying. She’s quite the mama’s girl right now and although this mama loves her baby so very much, this mama is also pregnant and tired and not coordinated enough to walk uphill, push a stroller, and hold a heavy toddler on her hip.

Despite the crying episode, we all had a great time and look forward to many more walks, runs, and bike rides on this trail in the future.

At the Borrego Trail Entrance

At the Borrego Trail Entrance

Walking...

Walking…

Walking...

Walking…

Pausing with Her Blanket

Pausing with Her Blanket

Stroller Ride with Mama

Stroller Ride with Mama

Not Quite Tall Enough

Not Quite Tall Enough

Exercising with Daddy

Exercising with Daddy

Playing on the Fitness Equipment

Playing on the Fitness Equipment

Playing on the Fitness Equipment

Playing on the Fitness Equipment

Daddy Working His Abs

Daddy Working His Abs

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Borrego Trail at Baker Ranch

  1. What a lovely trail! Bummer about the meltdown, but I think that comes with the territory; Autumn had a few before Isaiah was born (mostly at daycare, strangely enough), but she actually took his birth pretty in-stride. I’ll admit being surrounded by grandparents may have eased the transition. I am jealous of your trail, and your CA weather that makes January walks at all palatable. Cute pics!

    • Carrie says:

      I’ll have to keep the tip about having grandparents around for the birth of Baby Girl Chambers #2 in mind. Right now, just as we did with Vivian, we aren’t planning on having grandparents present at the birth or on the days immediately following the birth or our return from the hospital (we enjoy having that special time together just with our little family). But…perhaps this time around we’ll need to make some modifications to our desires to better accommodate Vivian’s needs.

  2. Diane says:

    We had no grandparent help when Frank and I had our kids so it can be done. I do not recall the specialness so much, I was so tired. I do have one bittersweet memory shortly after Robin was born. Frank had just gone back to work. I was in the upstairs small bathroom in our old house with Robin, running the shower full blast on hot to get the room steamed up because she was congested. I was clammy and sticky and she was fussy. The doorbell rang. I was not going to leave her alone while I answered the door so I got her out of her sling chair, inched my way gingerly downstairs (still sore from C-section) to answer it. It was the florist with a dozen long-stem yellow roses from Frank. I look back on it now very fondly but then I was annoyed that I had to let some of the steam escape, just to fetch flowers from my loving husband. Aah, the memories…

    The Borrego trail will still be there to enjoy on happier days. Frank still gives me flowers but now he brings them personally from the nursery or grocery store. Sometimes I even get silk ones he hand delivers from the Dollar Store.

Leave a Reply

