Ringing in 2016 Family Style

The days of going out and partying on New Year’s Eve are long gone (although, we were never really big into NYE parties anyways). Now, we’re much happier staying in and celebrating with friends, which is exactly what we did this year. We were invited over to our neighbor’s/friend’s house and so we joined a few other neighbors/friends and their small children and watched the Times Square ball drop at 9pm EST. Vivian had a blast playing with all the other kiddos (especially her daycare buddy, Cooper) and we enjoyed the adult conversation – all just a few steps from our own home-sweet-home. Have I mentioned before how much we love our new community, Baker Ranch, and our new neighbors?!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Most of the NYE Gang

Most of the NYE Gang

Vivian and Cooper - She Loves Him!

Vivian and Cooper – She Adores Him!

On the first day of 2016, we attempted to take a walk around our community (well, we did walk, just not where we wanted to, which was the Borrego Trail, because Vivian was being a pill). In the evening, after naps, we went to the Irvine Spectrum Center where Vivian spent over an hour playing on their play structure. We finally peeled her off of it go get dinner and watch the Disney Holiday Magical Light show in the Edwards Courtyard near the theaters.

Playground Fun

Playground Fun

Daddy and Daughter at the Disney Light Show

Daddy and Daughter at the Disney Light Show

Watching Mickey Mouse During the Light Show

Watching Mickey Mouse During the Light Show

I won’t sugar our first outings of the new year, though – they were exhausting! Vivian was so clingy to me and refused to ride in her stroller (without screaming) or be held by Dan or walk on her own. She only wanted Mama. And when I was too tired to carry her and she began screaming, she would not calm down. It certainly wasn’t all party hats, playtime, and Disney magic…

Regardless, 2016 is set up to be a great year. We’re excited about the arrival of Baby Girl Chambers #2 and all the fun that that will entail! So, welcome 2016!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ringing in 2016 Family Style

  1. Ugh, that screaming sounds so frustrating. I had a lot of back pain well before I was visibly pregnant with Isaiah, so that’s one pitfall we kind of missed – Autumn was already used to not being carried by the end of the first trimester. I hope it’s just a phase that blows over soon, because I wince in sympathy at the thought of pregnancy back pain!

    • Carrie says:

      Luckily, I have never experienced pregnancy back pain. I’m not sure, exactly, how I escape it (especially since I gained a whopping 45 lbs. while pregnant with Vivian), but I do go to very regular chiropractor appts. and get massages and I also go to acupuncture appointments. So, I’m not in pain when I hold Vivian – I’m just tired and lazy:-(

  2. Diane says:

    I love our calendar picture of VIvian sipping her way into the new year. Maybe on this first day of the year she was experiencing her first “hangover” { ;•) Just kidding.

Leave a Reply

