Birthdays and Bridal Showers in Colorado

After spending three weeks at home, Vivian and I packed up for our next adventure – this time to Colorado! Dan stayed home to work on the yard, relax, and hang out with friends in San Diego. Vivian and I met up with my sister and mom for a girls’ weekend:-)

We flew out to Colorado on the afternoon of my 35th birthday. I was last in Colorado on my birthday seven years ago. A lot has sure changed since I was 28! Anna picked us up from the airport and took me out to dinner at a nearby sushi restaurant while we waited for Mom to arrive on her flight. Vivian slept through 3/4 of our sushi dinner, which excited me to no end. Last year, my birthday dinner was a complete debacle (Vivian cried, I had to eat and nurse Vivian at a fancy restaurant at the same time, my steak was overcooked, and I was utterly exhausted), so I was more grateful than ever to be able to enjoy catching up with my sister over a quiet, delicious meal. Thanks, Anna!

On Saturday, we took Vivian to the Denver Zoo. The zoo is pretty large, but very well laid out and landscaped. It was a hot day, but the large trees provided much needed relief from the sun. Vivian loved running around and seeing the animals. She said “meow meow” to all the cat-like animals and called pretty much everything else, “Dutch.” She is actually getting very good at saying 1-2 syllable words and so she will repeat almost anything that you ask her to say. We last took her to the zoo two months ago and I  was surprised how, in just a short period of time, she has developed and become more interested in the animals.

Denver Zoo Entrance

Denver Zoo Entrance

LEGO Lion

LEGO Lion

Strolling Around the Zoo

Strolling Around the Zoo

Penguin and Baby Bellies

Penguin and Baby Bellies

Monkey Viewing

Monkey Viewing

We returned to Anna and Tim’s ranch in the late afternoon and showed Vivian the bulls and tractors.

Hammock Time

Hammock Time

Big Tractor, Little Girl

Big Tractor, Little Girl

Feeding the Bulls

Feeding the Bulls

Sunset on the Triple S Ranch

Sunset on the Triple S Ranch

On Sunday, we celebrated Anna’s upcoming nuptials at a bridal shower in her honor at the River Garden Winery in Fort Lupton. We were last at the winery in November 2014, and enjoyed going back again for such a happy occasion.

Damschroder Girls at Anna's Bridal Shower

Damschroder Girls at Anna’s Bridal Shower

The next time we go back to Colorado, it will be for Anna and Tim’s wedding in October!! We can’t wait!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Drinking, Sightseeing, Travel, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthdays and Bridal Showers in Colorado

  1. Robini says:

    That Denver zoo looks fabulous – and it’s great that Vivian was so engaged. Getting Autumn out to our zoo is on the to-do list again now that I’m feeling better, but 2 years ago we brought her to the Museum of Natural History in Denver and she loved it. It’s pretty cool to see Viv with all the (other) Damschroder girls 🙂

Leave a Reply

