A Sleepy Hike in Whiting Ranch

Now that we’ve moved, we have a new wilderness area in our “backyard.” We tried to introduce Vivian to it a few weeks ago on a morning hike. We arrived at Whiting Ranch Wilderness Park at around 10am. Vivian was fast asleep in her car seat after the 3 minute drive from our home to the park. We transferred her from her car seat to the Ergobaby carrier that I had strapped on and she didn’t wake up. We snapped a quick family photo before we started hiking.

Ready to Hike!

Ready to Hike!

We hiked all over the park for over two hours. Because one of the trails was closed, we had to backtrack quite a bit, instead of hiking a loop like we had planned. We hiked up and down and all around. And Vivian snoozed on, napping throughout the entire hike on me! I had brought a banana for her to snack on while we were hiking, but instead of her eating it, it got grossly smashed in my hiking pack and so I had to carry it in my hand during the entire hike so that it wouldn’t gross up anything else in the pack. Finally, Vivian’s eyes fluttered open just as we finished the hike. Whew – after all that hiking napping, she was thirsty!

Water Bottle Baby

Water Bottle Baby

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sleepy Hike in Whiting Ranch

  1. Diane says:

    That is one smart baby! That is exactly how her grandma would love to do a hike. But I think I would have eaten the banana before I took my nap. It sounds like you guys had a wonderful time though and I am glad you are making time for pleasure.

Leave a Reply

