Turkey Time!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. However, every year I manage to exhaust myself to the point of tears, thereby getting very little satisfaction out of Thanksgiving. I hope that after this year’s break down, I have learned my lesson. Time will tell…

After a nearly 9-hour drive the night before Thanksgiving, we arrived in Livermore at 1:30am. After unloading the car, unpacking, prepping for the following morning, nursing Vivian, and getting ready for bed, I had 3.5 hours to sleep before my alarm rudely woke me up. Early on Thanksgiving morning, I quietly snuck out of the house before anyone else was awake, got back into the car, strapped on my breast pump, and drove to Walnut Creek, about 30 minutes away. Then I ran 10K in the Forma Gym Turkey Trot, which follows my tradition of running turkey trot races on Thanksgiving morning (see here, here, and here). I enjoyed the race, but I ran it so slow. Slower than ever. Slower even than last year when I was 23 weeks pregnant. My final time was 1:11:39. But…I hadn’t run at all prior to this race in over three months. Although slow, I did prove to myself that less than 8 months after having a baby, I can run 6.2 miles without stopping. Slowly.

After finishing my race, I drove to Campbell, south of San Jose, and about 45 minutes away, to gas up the car and pick up some friends that were going to join us for Thanksgiving dinner.  Then it was back to Livermore to pump some more, shower, direct some cooking, and bake a pie. And have a nervous, exhausted breakdown. I sat down for a few minutes to eat and then was back up and in the kitchen scrubbing pots and pans and sweeping the floor while Dan drove our friends back to Campbell. At the end of the day, after nursing, bathing, and putting Vivian to bed, I could hardly wait to collapse in bed myself.

Our Happy Little Turkey

Our Happy Little Turkey

Friends on Thanksgiving

Friends on Thanksgiving

Family on Thanksgiving

Family on Thanksgiving

Friday was a new day, though! And Dan hung out with Vivian in the morning so I could rest a little longer. Whew!

Vivian Listens Intently to Her Daddy Playing the Piano

Vivian Listens Intently to Her Daddy Playing the Piano

We took a walk to downtown Livermore and then Dan and I got to see a movie (Horrible Bosses 2 – hilarious!) and taste some wine at Swirl on the Square (One Hope was being poured) and John Christopher Cellars. Grandma and Grandpa watched Vivian while we were out, which was very nice.

Wine Tasting on Date Night

Wine Tasting on Date Night

On Saturday, we relaxed inside while the weather outside was wonderfully gloomy and Fall-like. In the afternoon, we finally got off our butts and took Vivian (and Dan’s mom) wine tasting at McGrail Vineyards and Winery.

Wine Tasting with Vivian

Wine Tasting with Vivian

McGrail Vineyards and Winery

McGrail Vineyards and Winery

Our drive home on Sunday was so long and horrible that I won’t say anything else about it, except that we are never doing it with a baby ever again. On a more positive note, though, we did all arrive back home safely, and truly, that is what matters most.

Now, on to Christmas!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Drinking, Eating, Holidays, Running, Travel, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

