Fun with Family

While my family was in town for Vivian’s baptism we were able to do a few fun things together with Vivian around Orange County. I love tailoring family and friend visits to their likes/interests and creating custom travel itineraries for them while they are visiting us. Of course, though, my ability to do this has significantly waned since giving birth to Vivian. Now I have to consider her needs first for every outing. No matter, though, as I think she enjoyed the fun things that we did with my family while they were visiting (or, if she didn’t enjoy them, they at least pacified her enough to snooze through them and wake up refreshed after the outing was over!).

On the day that my family arrived, we lunched at Stadium Brewing Company, which was especially fun for my brother, who enjoys tasting many types of beer.

Lunch at Stadium Brewery

Lunch at Stadium

Since Halloween was just around the corner from my family’s visit, we took Vivian to Tanaka Farms to pick out pumpkins.

My Family at the Pile of Pumpkins

My Family at the Pile of Pumpkins

Three Generations in the Pumpkin Patch

Three Generations in the Pumpkin Patch

Working Our Way Through the Corn Maze

Working Our Way Through the Corn Maze

Five years ago when Dan’s and my relationship was still new, we went to Tanaka Farms and picked out pumpkins to carve. Here’s a throwback to our outing in 2009:

Tanaka Farms 2009

Tanaka Farms 2009

101809 008

Tanaka Farms 2009

Five years later, we’re married and have a baby!

One morning, everyone except for me went for a hike in Aliso and Wood Canyons Wilderness Park to the Top of the World. I stayed home to pump, shower, and do house chores.

Heading Out on a Hike

Heading Out on a Hike

And one evening, we all went to a new winery, Rancho Capistrano Winery, to do a little wine tasting.

Wine Tasting at Rancho Capistrano Winery

Wine Tasting at Rancho Capistrano Winery

I think that my family had a great time visiting with us in SoCal and seeing a few new sites. If nothing else, they loooooved spending time with cutie Vivian:-)

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Drinking, Hiking, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun with Family

  1. Shari says:

    I can’t believe you had to miss the hike 😉 I bet it was so nice to have a little quiet time to yourself.

    • Carrie says:

      There really is no more down time now that I have a baby:-( I do, admit, though, that it was strange to be in the house completely alone. Snoopy went along on the hike, so even he wasn’t home to cut the silence!

Leave a Reply

