Going to Grammy & Papa’s

After two visits this past summer to visit Grandma and Grandpa Chambers in Livermore, it was time for Vivian to make a cross country flight to visit her Grammy and Papa Damschroder in Ohio. Although she’d met her Grammy (my mom) and Aunt Anna (my sister) before, she hadn’t yet met her Papa (my dad), Uncle Matthew (my brother and Vivian’s soon-to-be godfather), only living great grandparent (my dad’s mom, Ruth, who is one of Vivian’s namesakes), and the rest of my extended family. So, when Vivian was 4 months old, in August 2014, we boarded a plane in Orange County, picked up Anna during a layover in Denver, and then kept flying east until we hit corn fields, long summer evenings, thunderstorms, and green grass.

Vivian Flying with Anna and Dan

Vivian Flying with Anna and Dan

Big Girl!

Big Girl!

The day after we arrived in Ohio, we attended my cousin Judd’s wedding and reception near Cleveland. After driving for two hours to get to the wedding, I needed to nurse Vivian during the [very quiet] Catholic ceremony. Nursing her wasn’t a big deal, but her spitting up what looked like a gallon of breast milk and then pooping out another gallon was. Her adorable dress was covered in all sorts of nastiness. Dan and I slunk to the back of the church and slipped into the bride’s room to clean her up. She spent the rest of the service in a onesie, which is what I probably should have dressed her in in the first place!

Anyway, after the ceremony, Vivian got to meet a lot of my mom’s extended family.

Vivian Meeting Cousin Sue

Vivian Meeting My Mom’s Cousin Sue

While waiting for the reception to begin, we all went out to a local brewery and eatery.

Waiting for the Reception to Begin at Fat Head's Brewery & Saloon

Waiting for the Reception to Begin at Fat Head’s Brewery & Saloon

At the reception, Vivian spent time with more extended family.

Aunt Deb, Uncle Den, & Vivian

Aunt Deb, Uncle Den, & Vivian

Photo Booth Fun with Cousin Sue, Uncle Tim, and Uncle Lee

Photo Booth Fun with Cousin Sue, Uncle Tim, and Uncle Lee

Dan and I also enjoyed our time with each other and my family.

Chambers Photo Booth Fun

Chambers Photo Booth Fun

Caught Sucking Her Thumb!

Caught Sucking Her Thumb!

It's been three years now since our own wedding!

It’s been three years now since our own wedding!

My Mom and Her Girls

My Mom and Her Girls

With the Bride, Sarah

With the Bride, Sarah

It was truly great to see so many of my mom’s family and for them to meet Vivian. The two hour drive home from the wedding reception did not go well (poor Vivian woke up very upset in her car seat), but after a nursing break at a rest stop, we all made it home and in bed.

The morning after the wedding, we went to my dad’s church. I had to nurse her there during the service, also. And, she also spit up A LOT. Churches make our baby puke?!

After church, we went over to my dad’s for a family BBQ. Vivian met her great grandma and all of her great aunts and uncles and second cousins on my dad’s side of the family.

Vivian Meets Her Great Grandma

Vivian Meets Her Great Grandma

Vivian and Her Aunt Anna

Vivian and Her Aunt Anna

Vivian Wearing a Hooded Poncho Her Great Aunt Jane Made for Her

Vivian Wearing a Hooded Poncho Her Great Aunt Jane Made for Her

Dan Shows Vivian How to Wear the Hooded Poncho

Dan Shows Vivian How to Wear the Hooded Poncho

Vivian and Her Papa

Vivian and Her Papa

The Whole Dam Family (Minus Matthew)

The Whole Dam Family (Minus Matthew)

Grandma and Her Great Grandkids

Grandma and Her Great Grand Kids

My Family (Minus Matthew)

My Family (Minus Matthew)

Four Generations!

Four Generations!

Grandma and Her Grand and Great Grand Kids (Minus Matthew)

Grandma and Her Grand and Great Grand Kids (Minus Matthew)

Dan flew back to California earlier than Vivian and me, but before he did, we showed him around the Sandusky County Fair, even though the fair hadn’t technically started yet.

Walking Around the Fair

Walking Around the Fair

Papa Showing Vivian the Chicken Barn at the Fair

Papa Showing Vivian the Chicken Barn at the Fair

Chambers Family at the Fair

Chambers Family at the Fair

Vivian in a Corn Box at the Fair

Vivian in a Corn Box at the Fair

Vivian and Dan at the Fair

Vivian and Dan at the Fair

After Dan flew home, Vivian and I spent our time hanging out with family and friends.

Vivian with Her Grammy and Great Uncle Lee

Vivian with Her Grammy and Great Uncle Lee

Vivian Visiting Her First Dead President (Rutherford B. Hayes)

Vivian Visiting Her First Dead President (Rutherford B. Hayes)

Grammy and Vivian in Spiegel Grove

Grammy and Vivian in Spiegel Grove

Visiting Julie at Chateau Tebeau Winery

Visiting Julie at Chateau Tebeau Winery

Vivian Eyeing Anna's Wine at Chateau Tebeau Winery

Vivian Eyeing Anna’s Wine at Chateau Tebeau Winery

Another Visit with Grandma

Another Visit with Grandma

Uncle Matthew Loves Vivian!

Uncle Matthew Loves Vivian!

Playing with Papa

Playing with Papa

Anna, Matthew, Vivian, and Me

Anna, Matthew, Vivian, and Me

We even made a return trip to the fair.

Watching the Sheep Show with Aunt Anna

Watching the Sheep Show with Aunt Anna

When Vivian and I returned to California after a week, my mom came with us. She watched Vivian during my first week back to work. Vivian really took to my mom. I was so happy to see them bonding! Somehow, my mom was always able to quickly get her to fall asleep for her naps and my mom always seemed to get WAY more done during the day than I ever could with Vivian around (baking, cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc.). My mom really made my transition back to work doable. I miss her now so much! So does Vivian!

Vivian and Grammy

Vivian and Grammy

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby, Drinking, Travel, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going to Grammy & Papa’s

  1. Sounds like it was a great visit… church outpourings and all! What VIPs you are that you got to see the fair before it opened. Vivian is lucky to have so many doting family members.

  2. Frank says:

    Ohio is West of Denver! Or was the plane flight actually ~24,000 miles? Sounds like a great visit though.

Leave a Reply

