So Much to be Thankful For

Last week, we celebrated my favorite holiday – Thanksgiving! We have so much to be thankful for, most especially each other and our family. We were blessed to be able to celebrate with my mom and Dan’s mom, dad, and brother. It was a bit of a hectic weekend – I still have a long way to go in  my “stop being a perfectionist, let go, be still, relax and enjoy” journey, but we had fun, ate a lot of good food, and enjoyed each other’s company.

Early on Thanksgiving morning, my mom and I ran in the Dana Point Turkey Trot. We’ve both run in this race before and were happy to be carrying on the tradition that we already started. I ran in the 10K race, and despite being 23 weeks pregnant, finished, without stopping, in 1:03:57. Running in this race was a huge goal of mine since I got pregnant. Mom, who took up running in her 50s, ran in the 5K and finished in an impressive time of 29:51. Technically, my mom had a better per/mile time than I did. I’m so proud of her!

After the Dana Point Turkey Trot

After the Dana Point Turkey Trot

We spent the rest of the day cooking, eating, and drinking, and, finally, at the very end of the day, resting!

Dan and Me on Thanksgiving

Dan and Me on Thanksgiving

Mom and Me on Thanksgiving

Mom and Me on Thanksgiving

Dan Carving the Turkey

Dan Carving the Turkey

The Whole Family - Even Snoopy!

The Whole Family – Even Snoopy!

We spent Black Friday relaxing after a busy Thanksgiving day and seeing the new movie, Frozen, which was super cute. Mom also bought me my first pairs of maternity jeans!

Dan’s family drove back to NorCal on Saturday and the remaining three of us went baby shopping – we picked out our daughter’s crib, mattress, dresser, glider, and ottoman!

On Sunday, before we had to take my mom to the airport, she and I went to mass at Christ Cathedral and walked around the buildings and grounds. The Catholic church bought the buildings and land last year. I’d always wanted to check out the well-known landmark, and now that it’s being converted into a Catholic space, the opportunity was perfect.

Mom and Me at Christ Cathedral

Mom and Me at Christ Cathedral

Thus ended our long holiday weekend. I’m sad that it’s already over, but I’m also really looking forward to our Christmas holiday in NorCal with Dan’s mom, dad, and brother.

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Eating, Holidays, Running, Sightseeing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

