Zipping Around Atlanta

Last week I flew to Atlanta to attend the 2013 Society for Technical Communication (STC) Summit. In addition to attending many education sessions and networking with other technical communicators across the country, I also presented with a panel of other communicators on “Interviewing SMEs” (subject-matter experts). Oh, and I won an iPad from a vendor in the exhibit hall! This was my first time attending this conference and it was a great experience for me all around.

Interviewing SMEs Panel at 2013 STC Summit

Interviewing SMEs Panel at 2013 STC Summit

I didn’t have a whole lot of time to explore Atlanta, but I did get out of the hotel one evening and go on a Segway tour of the downtown area. I’d never used a Segway before, and although it was a bit more nerve-wracking stepping on it for the first time than I thought it would be, it was a ton of fun. It didn’t take me too long before I was zipping around the major attractions of downtown Atlanta on a two-hour tour. If you’ve never experienced riding on a Segway before, I highly recommend it!

Riding Around the Georgia State Capitol

Riding Around the Georgia State Capitol

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Sightseeing, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zipping Around Atlanta

  1. Golden Gate Park in San Francisco has a place where you can rent these and after a 30 minute training session a docent leads a tour group around the park. I totally want Frank and I to do this soon, hopefully this summer!

Leave a Reply

