Home for the Holidays

For the second year in a row, we spent Christmas with my family in Ohio. We made it to Ohio in time to attend my cousin’s wedding reception (unfortunately, we missed the wedding ceremony). This was the first wedding reception that we attended since our own, nearly 1 1/2 years ago! It was great to see so much of my mom’s extended family at the reception. I was able to catch up with my aunts, uncles, and cousins, and Dan was able to meet some family members that he’d never met before.

Christmas 2012 002

With the Lovely Bride and Groom

In the few days before Christmas, we visited with friends (and, again, Dan was able to meet some friends that he’d never met before) and Dan bonded with my brother while shopping at Bass Pro Shops and with my dad while touring our small town’s sewage treatment plant that my dad maintains and shooting pistols at the Sandusky County Sportmen’s Club.

We spent Christmas Eve at my mom’s and then went to church with my dad.

Christmas Eve with Mom (and Uncle Lee)

Christmas Eve with Mom (and Uncle Lee)

Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve

On Christmas morning, we ate breakfast at my dad’s and then spent the day with my dad’s extended family.

The Damschroder Clan

The Damschroder Clan

Dan’s never experienced a white Christmas, and this year was no different. A snowstorm started rolling in right as he was flying out on the 26th, so I got to enjoy the beauty of the snow, but he missed out on it. He flew home via Oklahoma City and met his two-month-old niece for the first time while visiting with his sister and brother-in-law. While he flew back to California, I traveled up to our cabin in New York with my dad, sister, and my sister’s boyfriend. We spent two days at our snowy cabin in the woods cross country skiing and relaxing. Then it was back to Ohio and then back to California.

Cross Country Skiing in New York

Cross Country Skiing in New York

We closed out 2012 and rang in 2013 the same way we did last year – at Matador Cantina in Fullerton with our good friends. 2012 was a great year for us and we’re excited to see what 2013 brings our way!

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Skiing, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home for the Holidays

  1. Diane Chambers says:

    Sounds like you two fit a lot of visiting and fun into just a few days. Glad at least half of you saw a white Christmas. Dan has been snowboarding on Dec 26th. Is that not close enough to count as a white Christmas?

Leave a Reply

