Turkey and Wine x10

Oh how I love Thanksgiving! It is, hands down, my favorite holiday. I love the food. I love the cooking. I love the family. I love the early morning Turkey Trot. I love the whole premise behind the holiday – remembering what you are thankful and grateful to have in your life. I love that it’s not commercial and over-hyped and not just a giant spending and partying spree. Oh yes, I love Thanksgiving!

This year, my hubby, doggie, and I drove up to Livermore to spend the holiday with my inlaws. On Thanksgiving morning, I ran the Walnut Creek 10K Turkey Trot (and finished in 59:51). Then I prepared side dishes for our dinner meal. And then I stuffed myself silly and had to go to bed at 9pm.

On Black Friday, I most certainly did not get up early and go shopping! Instead, Dan and I, sans doggie, drove up to Napa and went wine tasting at Turnbull Wine Cellars, St. Supery Winery, Silver Oak Cellars (oh my gosh – they make my new favorite wine!!), and Silverado Vineyards (beautiful views!!). After all that delicious wine, we checked into our hotel in Napa and I took a little snooze before our dinner FARM at The Carneros Inn (so delicious!!).

Overlooking Silverado Vineyards

On our second day up north, we ventured over to Sonoma and tasted wine at B.R. Cohn Winery and Kunde Family Estate. Kunde was our last winery visit of our trip and we went a little overboard there, buying a 1.5 liter bottle of wine. All in all, we probably tasted 30+ wines and bought 8 bottles of wine (including the one giant bottle of wine). We ate lunch at a bistro in Santa Rosa and then drove on the 101 towards San Francisco, checking out the Marin Headlands and Golden Gate Bridge before driving through the city and back towards Livermore.

Sonoma Vineyards in the Fall

Marin Headlands and the Golden Gate Bridge

Back with my inlaws, we went to see the movie Wreck-It Ralph. On Sunday, we packed up our SUV and drove back to SoCal. We were very glad to spend the holiday with Dan’s parents and brother and also very glad that we got to visit Napa/Sonoma together (we each had only been there once before with other people). I already can’t wait for our next Thanksgiving…and our next wine tasting opportunity!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Drinking, Eating, Holidays, Our List, Travel, Wine Tasting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkey and Wine x10

  1. Oh wine tasting how I miss you so… That sounds like a great holiday! I have never done the Napa or Sonoma area (although I did have a ton of fun at the Livermore Wine festival), but combining wine tasting with a hotel and breakfast sounds positively amazing! I am envious of your journeys.

  2. Also, I hesitate to ask, but what is the average cost of a bottle of wine in that area these days? Just in case Jeremy and I go when we come out next (whenever that is…) so we can know what to budget.

    • Carrie says:

      Wine bottles in Napa and Sonoma are definitely more expensive than they are in Livermore. I think we paid anywhere from $55 – $150 per bottle of wine. Whites are generally cheaper than reds, but we’re a red family, so we only bought reds. The other expense that you need to factor in is tasting fees. Those are much more expensive than other areas, too, and rarely complimentary. Tastings probably ranged from $15 – $25/person. When we travel, we tend to not worry about cost and spend whatever we want to have a good time (I’m guessing that our method will eventually change when we have kids). If you can leave Autumn with your parents, I recommend that you go up to Napa/Sonoma knowing that it will be expensive, but also a very good and memorable time. Limit your trip to one or two days and have a blast during that short time!

Leave a Reply

