Colorado on My Mind

My little sister lives a short plane ride away in Colorado. It’s been nearly a year since I’ve been to Colorado and I hadn’t seen her new house yet, so I boarded a plane, sans my husband (who I left in California to work on creating a custom built-in media cabinet for our living room), and flew out to spend the weekend with her. The weather in SoCal was in the upper 80s; the weather in Colorado was in the 40s with a layer of snow on the ground!

The first thing that Anna and I did after she picked me up is go directly to the nearest sushi restaurant and get our raw fish on. So good! We were pretty tired so she saved the tour of her new home and ranch for the next day. We spent all of Saturday baking yummy pumpkin goodies and then we carved pumpkins at her boyfriend’s parents’ house (so I got to meet his entire family, which was nice). The last time that Anna and I carved pumpkins together was three years ago in Ohio – we’ve gotten a little better at it since then (plus, the templates and tools that are available now make it pretty easy)!

Pumpkin Carving in Ohio in 2009

Pumpkin Carving in Ohio in 2009

Fall in Ohio 2009

Pumpkin Carving in Colorado in 2012

Before I flew home at the end of the weekend, we met up with our cousin and hiked and explored Red Rocks Park & Ampitheatre outside of Denver and then toured our cousin’s house and had dinner with her and her husband.

Red Rocks Ampitheatre

Hiking the Trading Post Trail at Red Rocks Park

Next time I go to Colorado, I want to go zip-lining south of Colorado Springs! Every time I visit that state, I explore another piece of it. I love it!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Eating, Hiking, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colorado on My Mind

  1. Shari Becht says:

    So glad I got to hang with you both! It was such a great time! Can’t wait for our next visit! And if you need extra people to tag along on ziplining, we’d be totally game!

Leave a Reply

