The Color Dash

After returning from a business trip to Sacramento late on Friday night, I woke up super early on Saturday morning to meet up with a few of my coworkers and run in the inaugural Color Dash at Irvine Lake to benefit the American Heart Association. This was purely a “fun run” – as it was an untimed 5K (although I still timed myself and crossed the finish line in 30:25). The Color Dash is designed to promote a heart-healthy lifestyle through the use of color. As contestants run, walk, and skip (now you know that I didn’t walk or skip!), they’re showered with colors – each representing a different aspect of heart health. The result is a fun and exciting explosion of color that helps support the American Heart Association and their mission to improve lives through active lifestyles and healthy hearts. The result is also a huge mess, as shown below!

Before and After the Race

The race course was a dirt trail/road that hugged Irvine Lake. As we ran, volunteers threw brightly colored nontoxic cornstarch at us. Even though it wasn’t toxic, it still was annoying to swallow it and breath in it. But, of course, it was all for a good cause.

Me, George, and Robin Post-Race

After the race, we grabbed food from a food truck parked at the lake and then tried our hardest not to make a giant mess of our cars on our way home. When I walked in the house after the race, I completely freaked Dan out, as he didn’t know that I was running a race where I’d come home looking like a creature from Avatar!

Here’s a writeup about the race that was published in The Orange County Register: http://www.ocregister.com/articles/stroke-375219-color-satchfield.html. The man who finished second in the race worked as a contractor at my company last year.

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Color Dash

  1. That looks like a ton of fun, and a worthwhile cause too. Should have told Dan you’d had a revelation, and from now on you were a hippie, with a tie-dye lifestyle for you!

  2. Diane Chambers says:

    Wow! This really makes me willing to try entering since this seems like so much fun. You know how I love color and this might be just the incentive I need to offset my lack of exercise enthusiasm. For those of us out of shape, is there also a walk division since you are not timed? And just think of all the yummy gravy I could thicken using that appetizing cornstarch! ;•)

    • Carrie says:

      You should totally sign up for some local 5Ks! Most 5Ks are run/walk races. As a walker, you simply start at the back of the pack so that you don’t get in the way of the runners. I love signing up for races because it gives me motivation and a good goal. You can obviously easily walk a 5K, but signing up for a “race” might motivate you to walk it faster. Cardio (you know, the kind where you sweat!) is so important for good heart health, weight loss/maintenance, energy, and pretty much everything else in life! The Turkey Trot I’m running on Thanksgiving morning has a 5K run/walk. You can read more about it and sign up for it here: http://www.changeofpace.com/wctt.html.

  3. Shari Becht says:

    I love the idea that you also get to come away with kind of a “custom” shirt! Very fun!

    • Carrie says:

      Ha! Except that I can’t ever really wear my “custom” shirt again! If I wash it, then it’s just a plain ol’ race shirt again. And if I don’t wash it, well, I’d have to store it in my garage to keep it from “customizing” other items inside the house. Alas, in the end, I just threw it away:-(

Leave a Reply

