Kettlebell Kicks Our Butts

This week, Dan and I started a month of twice/week kettlebell classes. Don’t know what a kettlebell is? It’s this:

Kettlebells

I’ve been getting pretty bored with my workout routine lately, which isn’t helping motivate me. And, well, Dan could use some motivation, too:-) Plus, our friend, Liz, started doing kettlebell workouts a few months ago and she looks ah-mazing. So, when we scored an awesome intro. deal to the Republic of Strength, we signed up!

Now, so far in 2012, I’ve gone to the gym 162 times. That number doesn’t include my workouts outside of the gym – hikes, runs, yoga studio classes, etc. I thought I was in pretty good shape. Oh, I thought wrong. So very wrong. Our first class was last Monday night and it kicked.our.butts. We were a sopping mess afterwards and sore for two days straight after all the swings, squats, and push-ups. But, no pain, no gain, right? It was our first time working out together (surprising!) and it was good to do as a couple. But our schedules didn’t mesh later in the week, so we each went by ourselves to our second class to learn the first half of a “get up.” That class was less painful, but, like Liz said it would, it made us crave more.

So…we’ll see where this will lead. Hopefully to tighter abs and stronger arms! And, an invigorated gym routine!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kettlebell Kicks Our Butts

  1. Diane Chambers says:

    Have you and Dan kept this up? Looks like hard work! You said they are kettleBELLS not kettleBALLS, right? How heavy are they? Do they make any sound- other than the groans of those brave enough to use them? You are very intrepid!

    • Carrie says:

      Yup, we kept this up throughout all of October! I had my last class yesterday, but Dan is going to continue taking kettlebell (not kettleball) classes. This morning I started a five week trial/Groupon at Core Power Yoga (hot yoga), so that’s why I’m taking a break from kettlebell (plus, it’s a bit pricey for us both to do it). Anyway, you don’t bang the kettlebells together, so they don’t make any sound. They are simply used as weights in a variety of strength training exercises. Just like other weights, they come in a variety of sizes and, well, weights!

Leave a Reply

