Manning Up All Over Ourselves

If you’ve already seen The Book of Mormon musical, then you understand the title of this post:-) I think that song was my favorite song of the entire musical, which, thanks to my mom’s awesome first anniversary “paper” gift to us, we saw last Sunday afternoon at the beautiful Pantages Theater in Hollywood.

Dan had never been to the Pantages Theater, so it was fun to show him the very ornate interior in the building. I had been there three times before – once to see The Lion King and twice to see Wicked. This was our first professional musical theater date together, though.

In Hollywood Outside of the Pantages Theater

Before the show started, I noticed two things: 1) The Mormon church actually took out three full page ads in the playbill to advertise the “real” Book of Mormon. Their advertising had catchy slogans like “the book is always better than the movie.” and 2) The audience was seriously pumped for this performance! People were clapping before the curtain even opened.

The musical was easy-to-follow and very funny; it had great music; it brought up interesting topics of discussion after the show; and, yes, it was definitely cringe-worthy at times, even for us, who are pretty socially liberal. All I can say is that this is definitely not a musical for the kiddos!

After the show we walked across the street for an appetizer and drinks at the posh W Hotel and then we followed a transvestite to our parked car and drove back to the sheltered OC.

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manning Up All Over Ourselves

  1. That sounds like an awesome gift. I have only heard the soundtrack once, but I totally want to see the musical at the first available opportunity: I didn’t even know it was touring! Needless to say I am super jealous but very happy for you 🙂

  2. Diane Chambers says:

    I will definitely keep an eye out to see this musical local to us.

Leave a Reply

