An SUV is Not a Minivan

A few weeks ago, my 2001 Oldsmobile Alero with over 178,000 miles done quit and gave up in the middle of the road. The old girl was dead and there was no reviving her without a lot of money that wouldn’t have been well spent. I had planned to drive that car until it died, but when that actually happened, I quickly learned that that wasn’t a very good plan. I sold the car to a local junkyard and we immediately started looking for a replacement vehicle. But then Dan went to North Carolina for the weekend to visit with his cousins and aunt and uncle. And then we went backpacking in the Inyo National Forest. After much research, way too many conversations with car salesmen (always men…never women), and a few weeks’ hassle getting to and from work on trains and through the generosity of coworkers, we decided to buy a new 2013 Ford Escape.

Our new SUV meets all of our main criteria – good gas mileage with a 4-cylinder engine, plenty of room for Snoopy and a someday family, leather seats (to make cleanup from Snoopy and our someday kids much easier), and all the latest technology. The Escape has so much freakin’ technology that sometimes I forget how to turn it on (it’s a push-button start) and pulling into/out of the garage sets off every single alarm since there are sensors everywhere and a backup camera. Dan is the main driver of the new car (he was the main driver of the Alero before it died), but on weekends I can call it my own:-)

We haven’t decided what to name her yet. Any suggestions?

2013 Ford Escape – The Car with No Name

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An SUV is Not a Minivan

  1. Diane Chambers says:

    Name suggestion from Dan’s Dad…Houdini.

  2. Oh man, I have new car envy! Which is unusual for me, because usually I am a huge fan of driving my cars into the the ground. But I have a new appreciation for things with room for baby seats 🙂 I personally would suggest the “midnight alarm” (because of the color + all the alarms it sets off), or possibly the “traveling suite” for all the room it provides. No matter what name you settle on (and sometimes names can only be given in practice) , I hope you get many good years and miles out of that car 🙂

    • Carrie says:

      Ha! I’m sure that new car envy can very quickly dissipate when you remember that we now have a car payment to go along with our new wheels:-( As I stated in my post, I highly recommend getting a new car slightly before you end up driving your vehicle in the ground – it would make life much easier, less stressful, and less complicated! We knew that we definitely wanted to replace the Alero before having children – in fact, Dan wanted to replace it before I even got pregnant – because there are so many additional airbags, security options, safety features, and child restraint features that just aren’t in older cars. We are now able to check “upgrade car safety and security” off our “to do before having kids” list. Also, my friends who are parents with SUVs say that getting strollers and baby gear in and out of an SUV is a lot easier than a car. So…all good stuff with the new car, you know, except for that darn car payment!!

Leave a Reply

