Tethered to the Ground: Great Park Balloon

My mom was in town for a short (Thursday – Saturday) visit last week, and since we didn’t have much time with her, we made the time that we did have with her really count. Here’s a list of everything that we did in the 48+ hours that she was here:

My mom also took a 4-hour photography class as part of a gift that we gave to her last year. Unfortunately, my husband could only participate in the final brunch in Laguna Beach before we took my mom to the airport so that she could fly to Colorado to spend some time with my little sister. Luckily, my mom is as energetic as I am and so we were easily able to fill our time with fun things in Orange County.

When my mom was visiting 1 1/2 years ago with my sister, we tried (twice!) to ride the Great Park Balloon. Both times, we waited for what seemed like forever to get on the balloon, only to be told that we couldn’t go on it due to high winds. Then, recently, my husband and I tried to go on it, but, again, it was too windy. Finally, the winds were in our favor and my mom and I, after waiting 35+ minutes, were able to go up in it (we were on the last ride before they shut it down for awhile due to high winds again). I have to admit that I was more unnerved on the balloon than I thought I would be, but it was still a fun activity and the views were great.

400′ in the Air

Safely Back on the Ground

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Drinking, Eating, Hiking, Running, Sightseeing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tethered to the Ground: Great Park Balloon

  1. Diane Chambers says:

    Sounds like you and your mom did a lot and had a good time. I thought World of Color was beautiful and if she was even half as impressed as I was, she must have really enjoyed it. I am surprised to hear that the balloon is not as straight forward as I first thought. Maybe Frank and I will need to rethink trying it out. At the very least we will certainly try it out before even considering taking Alex on it in the future. On second thought, maybe Frank should try it out before I try it! I bet the views are well worth it though, right?

Leave a Reply

