Exploring One of CA’s Historic Hotels: Mission Inn

Last Saturday, my girlfriend, Julie, and I, had plans to hike Mt. Rubidoux in Riverside. However, it was raining cats and dogs and goats and was all sorts of nasty outside, so we revised our plans and instead met at the historic Mission Inn Hotel & Spa in Riverside to tour the hotel, check out their little museum, and have lunch. California has four historic hotels – Hotel Del in Coronado, Wawona Hotel in Yosemite, The Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite, and the Mission Inn Hotel in Riverside. We poked around the small museum and then went on an extensive tour of the hotel where we were able to see the chapel, music room, gardens, and more. Our tour guide was nice, but he spoke painfully slow, so by the time the tour was over (over 15 minutes past the advertised tour duration), Julie and I were more than ready for lunch. We settled into a windowed table, ate tacos, watched the rain fall outside, and caught up with each other. It was a wonderful afternoon!

I forgot to mention above that years ago, I ran in the Mission Inn Run (5k) to support and raise money for the restoration projects at the Mission Inn. At the time, I’d never heard of the Mission Inn, but my friend, Liz, and I thought it would be fun to run that race together, so we did. Since then, I’ve been wanting to check out the Mission Inn further, but haven’t taken the time to do so. The rainy day was a good excuse to finally explore this historic hotel.

Note that I did not take the pictures below because, well, for one, I do not travel by helicopter and take pictures from the sky, and, also, it was raining like mad.

Aeriel View of the Mission Inn

Interior Courtyard

Famous Bells

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Eating, Running, Sightseeing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

