Big Mountains and Bluebird Skies

Last weekend, for the third year in a row, my husband and I spent Super Bowl weekend with a group of friends (most of whom we only see once a year on this trip) in Mammoth Lakes, CA. We love Mammoth. It holds a special place in our hearts. Four years ago, my husband went on the trip as a single man. Then the following year, he brought me and told me that he loved me for the first time. A year later, we were engaged. And now, well, we’re married.

We spent two days on the slopes at Mammoth Mountain – me skiing on my totally awesome new skis and him riding on his new board (which he loves, too; he’s still getting used to his new boots and bindings though). Even though the mountain hasn’t received nearly as much snow as in previous years, the snow that they did have covered the mountain from top to bottom and was smooth, soft, and fast. The weather was perfect – we didn’t get cold and were even able to sit outside for lunch and a beer midday. My new skis made skiing sooooo much easier than in the past. Before, my thighs burned as I fought to keep control of my skis. Last weekend, I swooshed down the runs effortlessly. It was definitely time to upgrade our 12-year-old equipment!

At the Top of Mammoth Mountain

I’m already a little sad that I’ll probably have to sit out a few ski seasons in the future if/when I’m pregnant. I searched online and found many women who skied while they were pregnant, and even though I haven’t fallen down in many years, common sense (and my husband!) say that it’s probably something I will have to give up while knocked up:-( Until then, though, I plan to ski as often as I can!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Skiing, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

