Santa Monica Pier

Last Saturday, we made plans to have dinner at The Lobster in Santa Monica with my friend, Angela, and her son, who were visiting from Brazil. Before we met them for dinner, we spent some time on the Santa Monica Pier, which Dan had never done. We rode the roller coaster a few times, took a ride on the famous Ferris wheel, and was hit (well, me only) in the forehead by a dime that someone dropped from their seat on the Ferris wheel (at least I got to keep the dime). It was a fun pre-date to our formal date:-)

Santa Monica Ferris Wheel

This blog is obviously focused on the fun that we are having pre-babies partly because we’re worried that our life will change so much after we have kids that we won’t be able to do some of the things that we enjoy doing now for awhile. But…spending time with Angela this weekend was a refreshing reminder that although life changes, it doesn’t stop (or, well, it doesn’t have to). I love that Angela picked a very nice restaurant for our evening dinner and had no qualms bringing her 4 month old son along. She nursed him when he needed to be fed or comforted and we all held him to entertain him. Instead of holing herself up in her hotel room because she has an infant, she just made him a part of her schedule, instead of the other way around. The servers at the restaurant were amazed at how great the baby was – probably because he’s used to being out and about. He still sleeps when he needs to and eats when he needs to and he was perfectly happy most of the time, even when he wasn’t in his mom’s arms. I also love that Angela flew – by herself – on a very long overseas flight to get here to attend a funeral for her uncle. This mom doesn’t make excuses! I really hope that I can be as calm when I’m a mom and that I can also integrate my children into my life instead of completely stopping my current life and staying home for years on end to accommodate nap times, feeding times, and so on. Angela makes being a mom look easy and fun – not stressful and limiting. Time will tell if I’m able to do that, though – I’m kind of a nut about a lot of things! Dan, though, has promised to tell me to chill out when necessary!

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Sightseeing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

