Kids or No Kids? – That is the Question

Our good friend, Katie, forwarded me these blog posts entitled, “The Truth About Kids,” by Melanie Crutchfield. Her first post had me cracking up, her second post had me rethinking the new thoughts I’d formed after reading her first post, and her third post warmed my heart. Read on!

Part 1: Having Kids Is Not The Best Thing Ever

My favorite lines are, “Some people will tell you all kinds of unbelievably gooey stories about how great kids are, and how they didn’t know the meaning of life until they had kids, and how everything else pales in comparison, et cetera. People say, “I can’t even remember what life was like before we had children!” Oh, really? I do. It was awesome.”

Part 2: Having Kids Is Not The Worst Thing Ever

Part 3: Is It Worth It?

About Carrie

I'm a Midwest transplant in SoCal...spending my time exploring, questioning, reading, writing, baking, skiing, and running.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kids or No Kids? – That is the Question

  1. Hi Carrie – thanks for sharing! I loved reading her posts, especially the 1st one 😉 since I’m childless (not counting my “fur babies”). I have to admit that right now watching Riley (our 12 yr old Weim) go through her health issues right now and her cancer a few years back, it makes me wonder that if my heart breaks this much for my DOG, how on earth do parents endure having their children go through something serious (like what she talked about in the 3rd link you shared)? I can’t even FATHOM what that must be like. I’m sure that’s one of my million and one reasons for NOT having kids.

    Loving your blog! Happy 2012!

    • Carrie says:

      Happy 2012 indeed! I checked out a few other posts on Melanie’s blog and enjoyed reading them – she’s pretty witty. Anyway, Dan and I are having such a great time being married – just the two of us (well, plus Snoopy!) – and it certainly has made us wonder if we truly want kids and will be ready and open to having them. Deep in our hearts, we do both know that we want to be parents someday, but life sure is good now without kids!

      P.S. Dan and I are really starting to think about where we want to live in our future life with 2.3 kids and 1.7 dogs and we keep getting drawn back to Colorado. We figure we need to stay in SoCal for at least another 1 1/2 years, but after that, we’d love to be Colorado bound! Wouldn’t that be awesome to live close to each other?!

      • OMG YES YES YES! Come to Colorado! It’s such a great place – we LOVE Highlands Ranch. TONS of running/bike trails (that they even PLOW when it snows and they provide dog-poo bags), access to 4 awesome rec centers included in the HOA dues, Whole Foods smack in the middle, 😉 off-leash dog parks, tons of stuff for families/kids. It’s be worth a look at if you decide to come to CO.

        We already feel like we’ve missed out on a lot of opportunities to travel or be gone overnight just from having 2 dogs, so having kids just isn’t for us. Now with Riley being impaired, it’s already so much worse – I feel like I have a toddler that has to be watched 24/7 so it feels like having a kid all of a sudden. We love our pups DEARLY as you know, but we do plan to be dogless after these two have lived out their lives so that WE can be more mobile.

        I think it’s great that you are taking your time to enjoy being a married couple FIRST. That’s really important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

